Driving under the influence (DUI), whether for alcohol or drugs, is illegal throughout the United States. However, the penalties for driving while intoxicated are very steep in Orange County and throughout California. No matter what your specific situation is, whether you are facing a DUI charge due to a mistake that you made or believe you were wrongfully arrested, having an experienced DUI lawyer on your side is essential. However, the costs of hiring an Orange County, California DUI lawyer might be a concern.
The cost of a DUI lawyer can vary depending on the facts of your case and the experience level of the specific attorney you choose. In general, for first-time offenders, a DUI could cost you from $390 to $1,000 as a misdemeanor level. The court may add additional penalties, depending on the specificities of your unique case. The defendant should also account for the price of bail, license fees, and even additional increases in auto-insurance costs.
Factors That Impact How Much a DUI Attorney Will Cost in California
Costs may also be impacted by what caused you to be intoxicated. For instance, if you are under 21 and driving while under the influence, then you may have accompanying charges of drinking while underage. If you are driving while drinking and on other medication that could affect your driving, then you might face reckless driving charges in addition. In the event your DUI caused an accident, your costs escalate, not only to pay for another’s damages but also more in attorney’s fees. If someone was hurt in your DUI case, then your case will be more complex.
A DUI can seriously impact your future and is potentially life-changing. However, it is valid to be concerned about the costs associated with fighting your DUI charges. A good DUI lawyer will be able to help you understand the potential costs for your unique case and work with you to understand any additional costs you may face over the years as they relate to any additional convictions, victim restitution, and individual impacts of a conviction.
DUI Attorney Costs for Orange County, CA
Public defenders will work for you and are paid by the government. However, they are often overworked and tend to be underpaid. They may not have the resources to put up a strong defense for a DUI case, especially if it’s a repeat offense.
An experienced DUI lawyer in California can actually save clients’ money in both penalties and sentencing. Many will charge their clients on an hourly basis. Of course, the hourly rate for your DUI lawyer in California is going to range depending on the firm you are working with, their experience, and the severity of your situation. Many times, DUI lawyers will break up their time into small increments so that the client can better afford their services.
You can also expect to pay court fees associated with your case. Court fees vary depending on the court and your case, but typically consist of filing fees and other administrative costs associated with your DUI.
The Importance of Working With an Experienced Orange County Dui Lawyer
While the costs may seem overwhelming and scary, hiring an experienced attorney may end up saving you money in the future, depending on the costs and fines you may potentially face if you are convicted of your DUI charge. Whether you are facing your first DUI or have been charged with a second one, it is important to seek the advice of an experienced DUI attorney. No matter what, if you are facing a DUI charge, it is important to work with an Orange County criminal defense attorney who will fight to protect your rights and freedom.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contacting an experienced DUI lawyer should be your first step. An arrest after a DUI can be devastating, but you don’t have to face it alone. Here at The Law Office of Jacqueline Goodman, we offer compassionate and experienced legal advice to ensure the best outcomes for your case. Contact us today to help you explore your next steps after being charged with driving while intoxicated.
FAQs About DUI Lawyer Cost in California
How Much Does a DUI Lawyer Cost in California?
The cost of a DUI attorney varies depending on various factors, like previous convictions of DUI or crimes involving drugs or alcohol, among other issues. While there is no set cost, a criminal lawyer in California usually costs between $400-$800 per hour. Orange County, CA criminal lawyers are about the same cost as California state’s averages.
What Is the Average Cost of a DUI in California?
There is no exact cost for a DUI in California. However, between bail, court fees, and other costs, the state’s average cost after an arrest is between $10,000 to $12,000. This average does include attorney’s fees, which would likely be between $3,000 and $5,000. If it is a second or third offense, factors like DUI school or an ignition interlocking device may increase these fees. If your case requires a reinstatement fee, that will also add to your costs.
How Can I Get My DUI Case Dismissed in California?
Dismissing a DUI case is possible but complex. Here are some potential avenues for DUI dismissal:
Improper procedure: If police do not follow proper procedure, your case may be dismissed.
Incorrect chemical test: Mistakes happen in all processes. If there is a doubt about your test’s accuracy, it could mean dismissal.
Civil rights infringement: If your civil rights were violated, then you may be able to have the case dismissed.
Know that DUI is a complex area of law, and there may be options not listed here that would make your case dismissible.
How Long Does a DUI Case Take in California?
There is no set time for a DUI case, and your specific situation may not be the norm. Typically, a standard first-time DUI takes somewhere between two and six months. The court docket, your attorney’s schedule, and other issues may affect the length of your case, as would the case’s own complexities.