Skip to Content
Speak to Attorney Goodman 714-266-3945
Top
Anaheim DUI Lawyer

ANAHEIM DUI LAWYER

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in Anaheim, CA, it can be stressful and overwhelming. If you are not familiar with how the legal system works, attempting to navigate criminal charges like a DUI on your own may seem hopeless. DUI charges can prove especially difficult because the penalties they carry are so severe and can impact every part of your life. If you are facing a DUI charge, you need an experienced, aggressive Anaheim DUI attorney on your side. Trust The Law Office of Jacqueline Goodman to help guide you through your DUI defense.

California Traffic Laws

When you are operating any type of vehicle, it is your responsibility to ensure that you are as safe as possible. That extends beyond simple safe driving practices. It includes maintaining your vehicle, being aware of your surroundings, and keeping any passengers safe. California has countless traffic laws in place to ensure the safest conditions possible. Some of the most important laws concern:

  • Distracted Driving: One of the best ways to avoid accidents and problems while driving is to make sure you eliminate as many distractions as possible. To combat distracted driving, California law restricts the use of cell phones while driving. An adult driver may use a hands-free device to make phone calls, but nothing else. Underage drivers are not permitted to use their phones while driving at all. If you are stopped for using your phone while driving, you will likely receive a ticket.
  • Parking: It can be difficult to know where to park when you are out and about, particularly if you are in an area you are unfamiliar with. California uses a color-coded system, where curbs are painted various colors, to help drivers know where they are permitted to park in any given area. Parking violations, such as parking in a fire lane or blocking a handicapped area, can carry fines ranging from $20 to $500.
  • Seatbelts and Car Seats: Passenger safety is also essential, particularly if those passengers are children. One law to ensure passenger safety is the requirement for every adult passenger to wear a seatbelt while in the vehicle. The laws for children are much stronger, with each type of car seat having specific guidelines that must be followed. Breaking seatbelt and car seat laws also carry penalties. If you are ticketed for not wearing a seatbelt, you will pay a fine of around $160. If car seats are not properly installed or used, the fine is almost $500.

While there are plenty of driving and traffic laws in place to ensure driver and passenger safety, some of the most important laws pertain to driving if you have been drinking or consuming drugs. DUI laws can carry some of the most severe penalties, depending on the circumstances surrounding the charges.

SOMETIMES BAD THINGS HAPPENTO GOOD PEOPLE You Need Jacqueline On Your Side

I am committed to providing my clients with the trusted counsel and aggressive defense they deserve. I believe in redemption and helping people get second chances. I devote a significant portion of my practice to criminal justice reform and I have provided pro bono representation in impact litigation to change the laws to benefit every Californian.

No one is perfect, and everyone has flaws. A mistake should not define you, and our Orange County criminal defense attorney is ready to fight to protect your future, no matter the charges. Attorney Jacqueline Goodman is here to get you out of this difficult situation and put you back in the position you were in before your trouble started!

PENALTIES FOR A DUI CONVICTION IN CALIFORNIA

California’s zero tolerance for underage drivers using alcohol means that if a driver under the age of 21 is arrested for DUI, they are likely to face harsh penalties for their first offense. If a law enforcement officer suspects that an underage driver has consumed alcohol, they can require them to take either a breath test or a preliminary alcohol screening. If any alcohol is detected in their system, they could have their license suspended on the spot for up to a year and could also be arrested on DUI charges.

Continue Reading Read Less
    "She really listened and asked questions and delivered advice that was very useful."
    - Mary P.
    "Honest, hard working, and compassion, would describe, Jacquie."
    - Dorian C.
    "She took the time to understand our concerns an worries."
    - Joe G.
    "She was always easy to contact and gave me all the information that came her way."
    - Rosie C.
    "If you are looking for someone that is going to put in all of their effort and fight for the outcome you want, choose her."
    - Former Client
    "My family and I truly admire and respect this amazing and talented lawyer."
    - Chip E.
    "Thank you Ms Goodman and team!!"
    - Nick K.
    "Choose her to represent you in the orange county area"
    - Elizabeth E.

WHAT IS A DUI?

When an individual is charged with a DUI, it means that they were found to be "driving under the influence." They chose to drive after consuming a substance that impairs their judgment and ability to function properly. The most familiar type of DUI charge is when an individual is caught driving drunk and receives a ticket for that offense. It is becoming more common, however, for DUI charges to also be given if the person is under the influence of drugs. It is important to note that there is no differentiation between legal and illegal drugs when it comes to a DUI. If any drug keeps you from being able to drive safely, it could earn you a DUI charge. California has enacted several DUI laws to reduce the risk of people driving while under the influence of any substance.

UNDERAGE DRIVERS AND DUI CHARGES

Anyone under the age of 21 is not permitted to drink alcohol or consume certain drugs. These constraints extend to their driving experiences as well. California has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drivers and alcohol. Drivers who are under the age of 21 are not even allowed to have alcohol in their vehicle unless they have a legal adult with them and the alcohol is entirely unopened. There are significant penalties in place for most DUI convictions, but especially for underage drivers.

CALIFORNIA DUI LAWS

There are two primary laws in place that govern DUI offenses in California. Vehicle Code 23152(a) makes driving under the influence of alcohol illegal, while Vehicle Code 23152(b) restricts the legal blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, to anything lower than .08%. Each vehicle code pertains to a different circumstance. However, drivers who are charged with a DUI will usually be charged with both offenses.

The two main DUI laws deal specifically with driving under the influence of alcohol, but there is also a provision to include driving under the influence of drugs, or DUID. This can be more difficult to measure, but the general gauge is whether an individual can drive like a sober person due to the drugs. The drugs in question do not have to be illegal for a person to be given a DUID, so long as they impair judgment or motor skills.

Whether your DUI charge is due to alcohol or drugs, you will have to pay a fine and potentially face a harsher penalty if you are convicted. DUIs can be filed either as misdemeanors, which are lesser charges, or as felonies. Whether a DUI is a misdemeanor or a felony will be determined by how severe the violation is. The laws are much stricter when dealing with drivers who are underage.

 

REAL PEOPLE. REAL RESULTS.

  • CASE DISMISSED
    CASE DISMISSED

    CHILD ENDANGERMENT / CRUELTY

    Penal Code 273a(b) Child endangerment/cruelty.

    + -
  • CASE DISMISSED
    CASE DISMISSED

    CHILD MOLESTATION

    Child molestation: Felony.

    + -
  • CASE DISMISSED
    CASE DISMISSED

    PROBATION VIOLATION

    PC 1203.2 Committing a new crime or violating any term or condition of probation.

    + -
  • CASE DISMISSED
    CASE DISMISSED

    ATTEMPTED MURDER OF POLICE OFFICER

    Los Angeles Arrest Pre-filing representation on Attempted murder of police officer, assault with a deadly weapon upon a police officer.

    + -
  • CASE DISMISSED
    CASE DISMISSED

    CONTEMPT OF COURT ORDER

    Contempt of court order by a gang member.

    + -
  • CASE DISMISSED
    CASE DISMISSED

    CHILD SEX ABUSE CASE

    Child Sex Abuse case dismissed.

    + -

2022 CALIFORNIA DUI LAW UPDATES

California takes DUI laws and penalties very seriously and regularly updates them to ensure that they are as effective as possible. A few updates to the DUI laws in 2022 include:

  • DUI Treatment Programs: Completing a full treatment program following a DUI conviction may be mandatory for some drivers.
  • High BAC is Aggravated: A blood alcohol concentration of more than 0.08% is considered a felony in California. A recent change states that any driver who has a BAC of 0.15% or higher will be charged with an aggravated DUI.
  • IID Requirement: While IIDs are currently part of the penalties for a DUI, they are not always required. This places a stricter requirement on the installation and use of such devices for drivers convicted of a DUI.

DUI laws change frequently, so it is a good practice to check them on a regular basis so that you are up to date. If you are facing DUI charges and are unsure how to proceed, an Anaheim DUI defense lawyer can help.

DUI ATTORNEY FAQ'S

Anaheim, CA
  • Is a DUI a felony in Anaheim, CA?
    Most DUI charges are filed as misdemeanors, but there are circumstances where a DUI will be charged as a felony. The severity of a DUI charge will be determined by several key factors. If any injuries occur as the result of someone driving under the influence, then the driver may face a felony DUI charge. A driver’s charges can also be upgraded to a felony if they have three prior DUI charges in the past ten years or any other felony DUI charges on their record.
  • What is a DUI?
    A DUI charge means that an individual was caught operating a vehicle while under the influence of any substance that impairs their judgment. Most drivers are familiar with DUI charges related to driving while drunk. However, it is also possible to be charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of drugs. California does not differentiate between illegal, over-the-counter, and prescription drugs when determining a drug DUI. If an officer believes you are under the influence of a drug, regardless of its legality, you may face a DUI charge.
  • What is the full meaning of DUI?
    DUI stands for "driving under the influence." In some instances, it may also be seen as DWI, which stands for "driving while intoxicated." These refer to any traffic violation when an individual has consumed any substance that hinders their judgment. A DUI is most commonly associated with a person who has consumed alcohol and chosen to drive. It is becoming more common, however, for DUI charges to involve individuals who are under the influence of a drug, either legal or illegal.
  • What is the penalty for DUI?
    The penalties associated with DUI charges vary depending on the severity of the incident. The most common penalties are fines and jail time. If you are convicted of a DUI and your blood alcohol content was excessively high, you will face harsher penalties. The fines in those cases are between $400 and $1,000, and you will also likely lose your license for up to six months. If another person is injured or killed as the result of your DUI, then you could also face lawsuits connected with those events.

THE LAW OFFICE OF JACQUELINE GOODMAN: YOUR ANAHEIM DUI LAWYER

Facing a DUI charge can be overwhelming, particularly if you are not familiar with the legal system. You need the expert guidance of an experienced and aggressive defense attorney as you navigate the DUI process. With over two decades of experience as a criminal defense attorney, we can be your advocate and fight to ensure that you are treated fairly as you navigate your DUI charges. Contact The Law Office of Jacqueline Goodman today for assistance with any DUI-related legal cases.

HOW AN ANAHEIM DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEY CAN HELP

Any time you are facing criminal charges, it is in your best interest to hire an experienced defense attorney. For DUI charges in particular, it is helpful to have the guidance and advice of an expert to ensure that your traffic stop was handled properly. They can assist you as you navigate the legal system. You do not have to face DUI charges alone.

CONTACT US TODAY

If You're Facing Criminal Charges In Orange County, Los Angeles or Throughout California Call (714) 266-3945; For After-Hours, You Will Be Redirected To Her Cellphone
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy