Orange County Sexual Abuse Lawyer Fighting For Your FreedomMake The Right Call 714-733-1737 >
If you’re facing criminal charges in Orange County complete the form to speak with Attorney Goodman
California takes accusations of sexual abuse seriously. So seriously, in fact, that it recently passed a law that expands the statute of limitations for victims of the offense to file a civil lawsuit against their alleged abuser. If you've been accused of committing a sexual abuse offense, speak with an attorney who will staunchly defend your case and will discuss your legal options with you.
A conviction for a sexual abuse offense carries harsh punishments. Understanding the impacts on a person's life, Attorney Jacqueline Goodman, of The Law Office of Jacqueline Goodman, will examine every detail of your case to spot weaknesses in the prosecutor's claims and develop an effective legal strategy on your behalf. Trying to navigate the legal system on your own or going up against a prosecutor who will do everything they can to land a conviction can be challenging, and you shouldn't have to go it alone.
To level the playing field in your sexual abuse case in Orange County call (714) 733-1737 today.
The term 'sexual abuse' is used to describe sexual acts that are intended to cause pain, harm, or humiliation to the individual.
California doesn't have a specific law prohibiting acts of sexual abuse. Rather it has several statutes that criminalize certain sex offenses. For instance, under California Penal Code 243.4 PC (sexual assault), a person could be accused of committing an offense if they touch the intimate parts of another person for sexual gratification, arousal, or abuse. This offense is a wobbler, which means it could be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. A conviction could result in either up to 6 months in jail or up to 4 years in prison.
Additionally, a person could be accused of committing sexual abuse if they violate California Penal Code 288 PC, which is concerned with lewd and lascivious acts with a minor.
Specifically, the law states that it's illegal to engage in a lewd or lascivious act:
The potential conviction penalties for a violation of California Penal Code 288 PC include up to 10 years in prison.
If you've been accused of a sexual abuse offense in Orange County, know that Attorney Goodman is ready to provide the skilled legal counsel and aggressive defense you need to fight your charges. She has obtained favorable outcomes for past clients and will work hard toward a just result on your behalf.
Misdemeanor on completion of community service - Felony 2nd DUI, under 21 with injury.
Los Angeles Arrest Pre-filing representation on Attempted murder of police officer, assault with a deadly weapon upon a police officer.
Strike felonies including assault with a deadly weapon - car with great bodily injury.
Car accident, no license, speeding (filed by Anaheim City Attorney).
Penal Code 273a(b) Child endangerment/cruelty.
Child molestation: Felony.
Commercial burglary probation violation: dismissed, no violation found.
Contempt of court order by a gang member.
Child Sex Abuse case dismissed.