Underage DUI Lawyer in Orange County
Protection for Drivers Under 21
California is known for its harsh prosecution of drivers who are guilty
of driving under the influence, and this is especially true of underage
drivers. Those who are under the legal drinking age of 21 years old will
face severe penalties if they are caught drinking and driving because
of California's "zero tolerance" DUI law. California is
one of many states that have adopted a zero tolerance policy towards underage
drivers who have consumed alcohol.
What Is Involved in the "Zero Tolerance" DUI Law?
The zero tolerance law ensures that any underage driver who is found to
have a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.01% will be
arrested for DUI. Anyone who is under 21 and is suspected of DUI is required by law to
consent to a preliminary alcohol screening test or any other blood, urine,
or breathe test to determine BAC. If you submit to a chemical test and
your BAC shows up as .01% or greater, you will automatically face penalties
under California DUI law.
The penalties for this type of an underage DUI include an automatic one-year
driver's license suspension or a one-year delay of driving privileges
for those who do not yet have a California driver's license. Some
underage drivers think they can avoid a DUI and these penalties merely
by refusing to submit to a chemical test, but this is not the case. In
fact, refusing to submit to one of these tests will result in a one- to
three-year suspension, which is determined by how many prior convictions
a driver has under California's zero tolerance law. This offense is
civil and not criminal, and therefore the penalties will be enforced by
the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
California DUI Penalties for Underage Drivers
There is another type of underage DUI that you can be charged with if you
are caught driving with a BAC of 0.05-0.07 percent. This type of underage
DUI is considered to be a misdemeanor charge under California Vehicle
Code Section 23140 VC, and the penalties for this type of DUI will increase
with every subsequent conviction. There are no jail or prison sentences
given for underage DUI, but the
first conviction for this type of DUI will carry with it a $100 penalty. This fine will
increase by $100 with every subsequent offense, and additional penalties
will apply under California's zero tolerance law. In addition to paying
the fine, those accused of this type of underage DUI will also lose their
driver's license for one year and must attend and complete a three-month
alcohol program before their license will be reinstated.
It is also common for those convicted of this type of underage DUI to be
ordered to participate in a "Youthful Drunk Driving Visitation Program"
where they must visit either an E.R., coroner's office, or a chemical
dependency recovery center in order to observe the victims of DUI accidents
or people who have abused drugs or alcohol nearly to the point of death.
Why Should You Take Action to Fight an Underage DUI in OC?
One of the key reasons why it is important to challenge and defeat an underage
DUI is because a conviction must be reported on college and employment
applications under the criminal history section. DUI convictions have
a way of staying with you for many years to come and may affect your ability
to receive certain scholarships, obtain housing, or get a certain job.
Instead of taking a chance with your future, call the Law Offices of Jacqueline
Goodman today to learn about how an Orange County DUI lawyer can help
you. Regardless of whether you have failed a
field sobriety test,
breath test, or another type of chemical test, our firm may be able to help you effectively
fight your charges.
free DUI consultation with Attorney Goodman in Orange County today!