Orange County Marijuana Lawyer
Robust Defense for Marijuana Charges
Have you been busted for possessing marijuana? Under California law, possession
of marijuana can either be actual or constructive. This means that you
either have "actual", physical possession of marijuana, or you
have "constructive" possession of marijuana by exercising control
Here at the Law Offices of Jacqueline Goodman, we can help you build a
compelling defense against these charges so that you can avoid the devastating
penalties of a conviction. We can also provide more information on the
recent changes in
California marijuana dispensary laws
Marijuana Possession in Orange County, CA
In order to be charged with possession of marijuana, you must know that
you were in possession of the drug and you must be aware that marijuana
is an illegal drug. You must also possess enough marijuana so that it
may be used as a drug, meaning that trace amounts or residues are not
enough to sustain a conviction.
The penalties for possessing marijuana include:
No more than 28.5 grams—maximum fine of $100
More than 28.5 grams—maximum penalty of six months in county jail and a $500 fine
There are several alternative sentencing options available that allows
eligible defendants to participate in drug rehabilitation so that their
charges will be dismissed. Here at the Law Offices of Jacqueline Goodman,
we know how to help you fight possession charges and can help you achieve
a reduction or dismissal of your case.
Marijuana Possession for the Purpose of Sale
Second to marijuana possession, marijuana possession with the intent of
sale is the most popular marijuana crime in California.
It is a felony crime to possess marijuana with the intent to sell it, and
this crime can be punished by up to three years in prison and a $10,000
fine. This is far more serious than simple marijuana possession, and California
law has established guidelines for determining if someone intends to sell
the marijuana that they possess.
If you are arrested for possession in a place where marijuana deals are
usually carried out, if you are found with a large amount of cash in small
denominations, or if the pot is found with no paraphernalia and you are
not high, the police may also try to charge you with marijuana possession
for the purpose of sale.
Sale / Transportation of Marijuana
It is a felony crime in California to give away or transport marijuana,
and even giving away marijuana or transporting it will result in these
serious charges. Many of these arrests take place because an undercover
cop asks to buy weed from a suspect, and you can be arrested for selling
marijuana even if the money has not exchanged hands yet.
This felony crime can result in up to 4 years in California state prison
and there will be longer prison-times if the alleged buyer is a minor.
Fighting Marijuana Charges in Orange County
The penalties for marijuana-related charges are dependent on many different
variables, and you must take action today if you have been arrested for such a
drug crime. Orange County prosecutors will do everything in their power to convict
you of the maximum sentence under the law, but a skilled criminal defense
lawyer from our firm can help you prevent that from happening.